Ryder Cup 2018 Awarded to France

May 17, 2011, 09:56 by R.E. Christian

The 2018 Ryder Cup will be contested at Le Golf National on the outskirts of Versailles near Paris, officials announced Tuesday.

Ryder Cup Europe officials conducted a competition in which France, Germany, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain sought to be the host country for the 42nd Ryder Cup.

France won with Le Golf National, "an impressive 'stadium' course, which has received high praise over the past 20 years," a Ryder Cup Europe release said. The course will be the site of golf's French Open next month for the 10th consecutive year.

The choice of France for the international completion will mark the first time since 1997 that the Ryder Cup, a competition between teams from the United States and Europe, will be decided on the European Continent.

Ryder Cup Europe said the bidding sites were judged on criteria including facilities, infrastructure to conduct a world-class sporting event and "commercial opportunities available to the Ryder Cup."

The biennial competition began in 1927 as a tournament between the United States and Great Britain. Ireland was added to the Great Britain team for 1973, '75 and '77 and the team was expanded to include all of Europe in 1979. It switched to even-numbered years in 2002.

Europe won the 2010 tournament 14 1/2-13 1/2. The United States has won the event 25 times while Europe has eight titles and Great Britain three. There have been two draws.

The 2012 Ryder Cup is scheduled for Medinah Country Club in Illinois while the 2014 cup was awarded to Gleneagles Hotel in Scotland and the 2016 edition is to be played at Chaska, Minn.

Source: UPI